Civic Organizations

City of Dayton

The City of Dayton is a Home Rule Government (PDF) with 6 elected officials, the Mayor and 5 City Council members. The Council members are elected by place 1 through 5 and the Mayor is an at large position, all positions serve 2 year terms. The terms are staggered, the Mayor and 2 Council seats place 4 and 5 are up for election during odd numbered years and the remaining 3 Council seats places 1 through 3 are up for election during even numbered years. The Council is responsible for the exercising of the City's legislative powers.

Police Department

Mission Statement

The primary mission of the Dayton Police Department is to improve the quality of life in the City of Dayton. To be successful in our mission it requires the commitment of our entire department along with the citizens together as a whole, to maintain peace, provide safety and security for our citizens and reduce the fear of crime and solve problems.

Fire Department

The Dayton Volunteer Fire Department (DVFD) proudly protects an estimated 20,000 people living in an area of 144 square miles. We operate out of 2 stations that protect residential, agricultural, and industrial area. Our department is a public department whose members are on a volunteer status

Fire department ISO rating